A friend and recipient of the Himsights asked me some good questions about what I wrote in the last Himsights. Perhaps you may have had these same questions.

Here is what he wrote:

So why do you feel that if I share my thorn it is not my thorn?  I share with my brothers my thorns in hope they will pray for me and in turn allow me to do the same…. Do I misunderstand your definition of thorn?

This was my reply:

These are great questions. I am pleased to see these messages working in
you. To the question of whether you misunderstand my definition of thorn,
perhaps. I am not talking about a temptation or trial that is brought to
us by others or ourselves. I am talking about something that is allowed by
God and sent to perform a refining work in us. Things that show us where we fall short of the Glory of God and produce deep spiritual work.

As Christians we will all face trials and afflictions which are the
warrings of our spirit against the devil (or his emissaries), the world
and the flesh. We all need to share these trials with others who are spiritual and recruit their prayer support.

Our thorn, on the other hand,  is often deeply personal and intimate. In fact, so intimate that we probably could not explain it if we wanted to. It is the way God works in us according to His good pleasure. I hope this helped.

As I took this to God in prayer He reminded me of the division of spiritual work. In essence, what I told my friend was that there is work which we must do because we can do it and God by His Spirit entreats us (in fact, often the crisis is there to stir us from our otherwise spiritually lethargic state). And then there is the work that our Father must do because we can not do it – He must do it or it would not get done.

In my discussion with my friend I was pointing out that there are three enemies that we must conquer – the Devil, the World and Self (Indwelling Sin).

Yes, the Devil has been defeated and is a toothless lion. But he still goes around roaring, seeking whom he may destroy (by his loud and empty threats and deceitful lies). He is a threat to those who do not exercise Faith and believe the Word – Jesus Christ.

Yes, we are more than overcomers through Jesus Christ our Lord. It is by Faith alone that we overcome the World. "These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world." Jn. 16:33 and "Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world." 1 Jn. 4:4

Yes, our sins (plural) are removed by Faith in Christ’s Redemption and that is no longer an issue but Self (the indwelling presence of Sin in us) must be brought to death (Hint: remember the power of Sin is the Law). Self has always been OUR problem ever since the Garden when we exercised him against God and His will by disobedience.

Now God has given us the victory over Satan (i.e. Christ), the ability to overcome the World (His Life in us), and the power to defeat Sin (i.e. grace). But we must deny ourselves and take up our cross and die daily. Our Faith must be in Christ alone and not in Self. This is our spiritual work.

We must by Faith in Christ’s work on the Cross – by the blood and the testimony of the Word – defeat the empty threats and deceitful lies of the Evil one. We must overcome the World as we place our Faith in Christ’s overcoming Life in which we now live and move and have our being. We must by Grace through Faith reckon ourSelves dead (i.e. love not our lives, even to death) and deny ourselves thus defeating Indwelling Sin in us. This is the victory – even our Faith. This is our work – Faith.

I will share Daddy’s work next time.

