My favorite verse in the Bible (if I could have one) is Galatians 2:20. My favorite translation of the Bible used to be NIV. My NIV Bible is literally in shreds. I have had to tape the backbone back onto it, Every page is covered with underlines and notes in the margins. Now I seldom ever read the NIV although most of my bible memory was done in that version. Why? Because I saw something one day that made my spirit shiver, and there it was right in the middle of my favorite verse.

Galatians 2:20 in the NIV reads,

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Did you see the contradiction? Look again. The entire meaning of the verse is (or should be) that it is not me who lives, but Christ in me. Then why does it say by implication that it depends on my faith? "I live by faith in the Son of God" Since the last reference is the "I" preceding it implies that it is my faith, that I work up a faith that I place in Christ and live by it. That is a blasphemous lie, the type that will place you straight into hell. That is exactly what the entire Bible is not saying. The Bible is continually and supernaturally leading us to understand that we can’t do this apart from the life of Christ in us. It is Him who is the Life. It is all Him. All things are from Him and by Him and to Him and for Him.

The KJV reads,

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Now that’s better. It places the ownership of the faith clearly on Christ. It is His faith, the faith of Christ. It is not my faith. If I could muster up the faith and live by it and thus gain eternal life to myself would I not be one to whom all the glory belongs for my salvation.

Dear brother and sister in Christ you must have this type of dogged uncompromising discernment. Yes, salvation is by faith to all who believe but it is eternally important what you believe. God is not trying to trick you or trap you, your Self is. Self is trying to gain to itself the credit and hence the glory for every good thing. There is no good thing in you except Christ.

And God is after that we will manifest Christ in us to the world so that they might see His Light and glorify Him (not us). So don’t for a minute take any credit for your salvation. That is works. That is Self effort and that will damn you for eternity. If you attach any cause for your salvation other than Christ you are standing on dangerous ground. How many spots can you have on your robe? Last time I checked it was to be spotless. Not because of my righteousness but because He is the spotless Lamb. If there is any of my righteousness on my robe it will become spotted and unacceptable.

I don’t know what happened (but I do) in the NIV translation to shift the meaning of that verse to a damnable lie. A subtle lie that Self enjoys. Was it poor translating or bad theology? I don’t care which, it was Self that is always subtly working against the Spirit. The Flesh wars against the Spirit. The one is contrary to the other. Contrary in that it is leading to one destination while the Spirit of God is leading to another destination.

Now just in case you think this is an honest mistake, here is another verse. Now exercise your own discernment.

Ephesians 3:12 in the New International Version (NIV) reads,

In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.

The King James Version (KJV) reads,

"In whom we have boldness and access with confidence by the faith of him."

Watch out for Self, he has the subtlety of a serpent (now a snake) in the grass. "Now the serpent was more subtle than any beast of the field which the Lord God had made. And he said unto the woman, Yea, hath God said…?"  Gen 3:1

