Gal. 4:29 But as then he that was born after the flesh persecuted him that was born after the Spirit, even so it is now.

 … even so it is now. Do you experience this persecution? No, not the "I never have what I want, life is too hard" persecution. The persecution spoken of here is spiritual, not temporal. This persecution is the waging and advancing war against Christ in you, against the advancement of His Kingdom in the bosom of your soul. Against the perfecting and completing of the work of Christ in you and the manifestation of Him to the world through you. The anger of the world against the Son of God is like the rabid, vicious, aggressive violence of the animal with rabies as it looses its mind and is set on harming any and everyone that is in its presence. The world hates Jesus Christ, and do not kid yourself, any tolerance for religion is tolerance for a religion which does not manifest truth or Christ, it is tolerance for the appearance of good not the reality of Good.

We see the first persecution in the account between Cain and Abel. The violent and murderous attack of one brother against the other is grounded, not in jealousy, but in pride. Not the surface pride that was upset that his brother got the attention, praise and acceptance but the deep, terrible pride that sees at once that the thing that I must do is place God before myself and die to what I want to have. I must place God’s desires, interests and agenda over mine. I have always lived my life on a long leash, doing exactly what I please, but now I have gone too far and found that I am restrained and bound to this one law of life — I must bend my knee to my Creator and give Him His due worship.

God tells Cain, Why art thou wroth? and why is thy countenance fallen? If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted? and if thou doest not well, sin lieth at the door. Gen. 4:6,7

There is this way of man, this way that seemeth right but it always leads to death. The way of external conformity to the law absent of the heart. I do what the law says but I do not love nor fear the Lawgiver. I want to play life on my terms, by my rules. I think God is like man and that I can hide my true heart behind the exterior motions of love that I can demonstrate by mere rote and acting out. But God knows the heart and the world hates Him for this. They want God to be like man so that they can manipulate and exercise power over Him.

The thing that Abel revealed and that Christ reveals and that Christ in you reveals is the true heart of Christ. The heart of sacrificial self-denying love for God and our brothers. By this will all men know that you are My disciples. It is that supernatural ability and desire and act of will to place God and others before my own desires, agenda and will. This fruit only grows in the soil of Gods Love, it can be found in no other place. We love because He first loved us.

The presence of this Love, the Presence of God in Christ in us manifest in the world is what drives the world to murder, both by act and thought. It can not bear this righteousness, this Holy Light that reveals to them their own depravity and need — a need to bend their knee in humble adoration and holy reverence in the presence of God. Instead, it kills the person who reveals this. It killed Abel, it killed the martyrs and most famously killed God himself in Christ.

 … even so it is now.
