You Must be Out of Your Mind

“I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again. No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself.” John 10:11-18.

Why would Jesus lay down His life for mine? Though the answer seems to be that He loves me and cares for me, and knows me, that is not the only reason. The reason is not tied to the worthiness of the sheep but to His relationship with His Father. It was a choice grounded in trust and obedience. “As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep.” “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son… ” The Son came to do the Father’s will, not His own. This dying was not Jesus’ idea but God’s. Jesus suffered not for us but for the will of His Father.

That is such a foreign concept in our time. The concept of not doing my will so that I might accomplish and do the will of another. Giving up my rights and my own safety and welfare for the life of another. That sounds like a crazy person. To die so that another might live. You must be out of your mind. And you must.

A person operating in their own mind, independent of God could not take so sober a walk to Calvary. For each of us operating apart from God’s life in us could not do it. If we did, it would be rumored that we were out of our mind. We would be accused of temporary insanity. Perhaps we were overtaken in a moment of emotion and compassion and did it. Yet we could not do it unless we were out of our mind. Jesus could not claim temporary insanity though. He was fully in touch with His faculties. “And it came to pass, when the time was come that he should be received up, he stedfastly set his face to go to Jerusalem. Luke 9:51.

In my mind, the mind of me apart from the life of Christ, I always consider what is best for me. And dying never even enters the list of desires. Yet that is exactly what God has called us to. To be like Him. To lay down my life as a ransom for many. What? Don’t look so surprised. Yes, you too are to lay down your life. In this way we are like Him, who offered Himself a ransom for many. God wants you to die so He can live.

You say, “You must be out of your mind.” And you must. We would never do it. But, when we operate in the Mind of Christ we can and will. Because when we operate in the Mind of Christ we do not consider our own will but the will of Him who sent me. It is a sober choice. The choice to die. It is the desire of God that you do it. Have you? Why not? You must be out of your mind—and into His Mind. “But we have the mind of Christ.” 1 Cor 2:16.

“Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.” Philip. 2:5-8.

“Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again.”


