Herein Is My Father Glorified – Part 5

God has done an amazing and wonderful thing. He has purposed and performed the redemption of your soul through His Son Jesus Christ. He has bought you back from slavery to the sin that so easily entangles. He has loosed you and made you free.

Free for what? To enjoy yourself and indulge yourself in more sin, separation and independence from Him? I think not. What then? Why were you redeemed?, so you could go to heaven? Then why not beam you up right now? Your redemption was never meant for you primarily, not so you could be saved (this is taught in religion everywhere) and pursue your own happiness here and then transport to bliss for eternity with Him. (Yes much of that may or may not occur, but it was never the goal of your salvation).

Your salvation is not your salvation. Your salvation is His salvation. It was not for you but for Him. He saved you. He set you apart for a special purpose, His purpose. “Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began.” 2 Tim 1:9. “For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” 2 Cor. 6:20.

Religion may sing one thing but it means another and teaches repeatedly another song. “Im coming back to the heart of worship. And its all about me, its all about me Lord.” It sickens my stomach to sit in a “worship service” when all the songs and lyrics speak about me and what I get, how God serves me and my needs for my own self-gratification and because of my great worth to Him. Religion makes man’s purposes the center of God’s will.

Well time to get off that horse. I think I killed him. 😉

No! A thousand times no! God did not save us so we could be happy. In fact, that is not even in the agenda (necessarily). He saved us so that His glory might be shown in us. That the world might see Him in us, a light upon a hill, reflecting the Glory of our Father. “That he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh to the lusts of men, but to the will of God.” 1 Peter 4:2.

“This is the will of God, even your sanctification.” 1 Thess. 4:3.

Our sanctification is from the world system, from the evil one, even from ourselves. We are set apart, sanctified, by God and for God. You are God’s special project. He wants to make you a son. He wants to mature you and grow you and endow you with His life and will and heart so that you may represent Him in the earth. Why not let Him? Why keep your life in this life and lose it in the next? Why not lose it in this life and keep it in the next?

Luke 9:24: For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.

John 12:25: He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.

Giving your life to God so that He can live through you, day by day, minute by minute is a step of faith, real faith. Not the faith that says one thing and does another. You can’t turn from sin (separation from God) telling God you love him and want to serve Him and then turn around and serve yourself. That is repenting of repenting. You are right back headed in the same direction you started.

You don’t come to God and get a ticket to “Get out of hell free” and then turn around and go right back to living your life in sin, separated from Him. There are a lot of people who do just this. I think it is clear who they are.

“Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them. Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.” Matt. 7:20-23.

Religion is the broad way. Christ is the narrow way.

“Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” Matt. 7:13-15.

“Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:6.

God is glorified through the revelation of Him through His sons. God made us in His image, to be like Him. That is what redemption is all about. We are redeemed to become the sons of God, that the world might know Him through us.

Herein is my Father glorified.


