Don’t Go To Church, Go To Re-member

“And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers;  For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ:  Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ.” Eph. 4:11-13

People often ask me, “Where do you go to church?” In fact, it is one the most telling questions, often revealing a strong entrenchment in religion and a stronghold of works. We like to size people up by where they “go to church”.

Have we heard of this place? It is the “right kind” of church? (meaning, is it one that I think or have been led to believe has the right stuff?) Is the preacher highly regarded? This is none other than the new form of separatist religion condemned by Paul at the get-go.

“Now this I say, that every one of you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Cephas; and I of Christ.  Is Christ divided? was Paul crucified for you? or were ye baptized in the name of Paul?” I Cor. 1:12-13.

I used to go to church too. Then I was delivered from that perversion of thought. You should never “go to church”. You are the church! If you are a saint, one called out of the world to be set apart, sanctified and used for God’s purpose, then you are the temple of the living God. You are a part of His body of which He is the Head. You are a member of the Body, His Bride, The Church.

Here is the question: Have you had your body (your unique member of Christ) with you all day? If you have, then you have been in church all day. You didn’t have to go somewhere to be there. You can no more go to church than you can enter the room you are already in. How can you go to where you are?

“God that made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands.” Acts 17:24.

“…for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.” 2 Cor. 6:16.

The question should not be, “Where do you go to church”, but rather, does God attend your church? Does He live and move and have His being in you? Are you the temple of the living God?

Here is a hook to get you off the concept of going to church. Do not go to church, rather re-member Him. That is the purpose of our corporate gathering (note: corporate means – ‘form into a body,’ from corpus) our coming together, not to form a church, but to form a body.

Romans 12:4: For as we have many members in one body, and all members have not the same office:

Romans 12:5: So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another.

I Corinthians 12:12: For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also is Christ.

I Corinthians 12:20: But now are they many members, yet but one body.

We are all members of Christ, not the church. We individually are the church. It is when we come together, we, being many members, form the Body.

Our purpose in coming together it to re-member Him. To bring the parts together again, to show the puzzle, the mystery that is Him in us individually, revealed corporately. We put the parts back together again, we re-member Him when we assemble together spiritually.

“And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:  Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” Heb. 10:25.

Here are some verses to get you re-thinking church and get you re-membering Him:

Exodus 20:8: Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

Numbers 15:40: That ye may remember, and do all my commandments, and be holy unto your God.

Luke 22:19: And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me.

John 14:26: But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

I Corinthians 11:25: After the same manner also he took the cup, when he had supped, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood: this do ye, as oft as ye drink it, in remembrance of me.

Philippians 1:3: I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,

II Peter 1:13: Yea, I think it meet, as long as I am in this tabernacle, to stir you up by putting you in remembrance;

In my estimation we are doing a whole lot of forgetting the Lord in the church houses today. People are gathering together, but they are forgetting, not re-membering Him.

Re-membering, coming together, fitted as we were designed to be the Body of Christ has the amazing and supernatural effect of growing us up. Stop forgetting Him and start re-membering!

“That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive;  But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ:  From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.” Eph. 4:14-16.

Get together by all means, and always as often as you can, but not to form a club, to form Him.

Re-member Me.

“Now I praise you, brethren, that ye remember me in all things, and keep the ordinances, as I delivered them to you.” 1 Cor. 11:12.

