Lowest or Highest Rung?

We are here on earth and God is in heaven. Yet there is a ladder, Jesus Christ, that bridges the gap. We may ascend with angels to the very throne of God and descend to bring back heavenly treasures. Are you climbing to higher heights each day?

In the movie City Slickers, a 1991 comedy about a man dealing (poorly) with a midlife crisis upon the advent of his 39th birthday, starring Billy Crystal and Jack Palance, Mitch Robbins (Billy Crystal) is learning (albeit reluctantly and unknowingly) about life from Curly (Jack Palance), a brazened hard-as-nails cowboy. Here is one of those lessons:

Curly: Do you know what the secret of life is? [points index finger skyward] This.
Mitch: Your finger?
Curly: One thing. Just one thing. You stick to that and the rest don’t mean sh**.
Mitch: But, what is the “one thing?”
Curly: [smiles and points his finger at Mitch] That’s what you have to find out.

Source: Wikiquotes http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/City_Slickers

Paul found out, and I, by God’s inexhaustible grace will attain to it.

“Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.” Phil. 3:13-15.

Are you thus minded to this end or “otherwise minded”? If the prize was at the top of the ladder what rung would you be on, the lowest or the highest?

Here is a guide of some of the stops to the top. What rung you are holding on to?

Distracted
Disinterested – Haven’t found the ladder, not looking for it.

Distinction
Decided – I have decided to follow Jesus, no turning back. Hallelujah! You‘re in! (Many are hanging on the bottom rung, holding on till He comes to rescue them).

Delay – Waiting to see which way will go best for me, further commitment or clinging to the bottom with other bottom feeders. Don’t wait to long though, you may fall back into the cesspool of the world.

Deterring – I am deterring sin in my life however not wholly committed to leaving Sodom and Gomorah.

Disassociation – I have made a show of leaving the world and let everybody know that I am “suffering for the Lord”. This is a really really hard place to stay, neither hot nor cold.

Discipleship
Deny (self) – Here I am putting away childish things. “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” 1 Cor. 13:11. The road gets steeper and narrower continually. But you are strengthened and encouraged at every step. There will be many challenges to test your faith along the way to see if you are motivated by love or self-satisfaction.

Death – You must not only deny, but must be willing to deny yourself to the point of death. You lay it all on the line in the ultimate test of your faith.

Devotion
Desire – Your only desire is to please Him to know Him and to found in Him. He has become your All-in-All. In Him you live and move and have your being.

Divine Oneness – This is the prayer of Jesus realized. That they may be one with us. Pure Love and Light have found expression in you. The Word has become Flesh.

How is the view from where you are? It is so much better near the top.


