Draw Me Closer; Calling All Saints

“No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.” John 6:44

Jesus bids us come. He wants us to follow Him. He wants us to be with Him where He is. How can we unless we follow Him? His part is to draw all men to Him. “If I be lifted up… ”

Drawing has this sense of pulling and tugging and enticing and attraction. Are you attracted to Him? Does your heart hear His call? He is calling to those who want to hear, want to see, want to be with Him. Just as some men (and women) are called by the sea to come and be there with it, just as some are called to the mountains, just as some are called to the world of creative arts, just as some are called to the world of academia and research, just as some are called to express through music, just as some are called… to the Lord, there is something in our heart that either does or does not respond when called.

Make no mistake, God is calling, drawing His children from the world to a better place — Him! Here is the dictionary definition for the word draw: “pull or drag (something such as a vehicle) so as to make it follow behind : … pull or move (something) in a specified direction : … gently pull or guide (someone) in a specified direction. You cannot come to Jesus the Christ unless the Father draw you.”

How are we drawn? By the sound of His voice. “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.” John 10:27. Finding Him and being with Him is not the afterthought of your day (or life for that matter). “I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.” Prov. 8:17

When we hear his voice, when we see His face we must sit at His feet and listen and seek to know Him. We just can’t imagine choosing to be away from Him. We are called and we seek. He wants to be with us and we want to be with Him. “I am my beloved’s, and my beloved is mine.” SS 6:3. “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” Jer. 29:13.

We not only like to hear Him. We not only like to see Him. We not only like to sit with Him and learn of Him. We also like to be with Him, doing what He is doing. If He is talking we are talking too. If He is helping, we are helping too. If He is praying we are praying too. We always do what He is doing. We always say what He is saying. We always go where He is going. We walk with Him all the days.

“But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.” 1 John 1:7.


